© Formactual Projects Ltd t/a PTT


Telecommunications apprenticeship standards


Apprenticeship standards are being phased in from 2017. Unlike the frameworks they replace, the standards do not involve national vocational qualification (NVQ) programmes to assess competences. Many standards do not specify external qualifications to confirm the attainment of the knowledge component either. Instead the assessment of the attainment of the necessary skills and knowledge is carried out in an End Point Assessment.


Delivering a Standards-based apprenticeship
A training provider who is on the Register of apprenticeship training providers (RoATP) must be employed in the delivery of an apprenticeship.
An Apprentice Assessment Organisation (AAO) who is on the Register of AAOs must also be appointed to carry out the End Point Assessment. Employers use the Register to select an organisation to undertake end-point assessment for them. The training provider contracts with the end-point assessment organisation, on behalf of the employer.

End Point Assessment (EPA)
The EPA includes an assessment that determines whether apprentices have achieved the required learning outcomes as specified by the standard, including, competencies, knowledge and behaviours. It takes place in the final few months of the apprenticeship, using four assessment methods:

“The decision as to when an apprentice is ready to cross the threshold from learning into the end point assessment phase will be made by the employer and the training provider based on their monitoring of apprentices’ progress. “

ICT related Standards
The following standards are suitable for technicians and engineers who maintain IP networks:
Unified Communications Technician (Level 3)
Unified Communications Trouble-shooter (Level 4)
IT Technical Salesperson (Level 3)
Network Engineer (Level 4)
Infrastructure Technician (Level 3)
Cyber Security Technologist Specialist (Level 4)

The unified communications technician standard is advertised as suitable for telecommunications technicians. However, the standard does not cover those areas that are specific to the delivery of a telecommunication service. For example, telecoms broadband access networks, mobile networks, and voice services are not included in the knowledge component.

Together with our partner registered training provider, we can work with your organisation to devise an online programme that meets the requirements of the unified communications standard while also providing the additional content that is relevant to your apprentices.